Neglected no more - because I matter.

Board and Staff

Board of Directors

effect:hope’s Board of Directors is an independent group of volunteers who oversee the activities of the organization. They ensure that the activities of effect:hope conform to our stated financial, ethical and Christian values.

The members are:

Mr. Winston Miller, Stouffville, ON, Chair
Mr. Peter Hogg, Toronto, ON, Vice-Chair
Mr. David Weind, Toronto, ON, Secretary-Treasurer
Dr. David Williams, Stouffville, ON
Mr. John Humphreys, North York, ON
Mr. David Bestvater, Toronto, ON
Mr. Ravi Chandran, Scarborough, ON
Mrs. Carol Morris, Toronto, ON
Dr. George Trusler, Toronto, ON

Executive Director

Peter Derrick

Management Team

Peter Derrick, Executive Director
Bob MacFarlane, Performance Monitoring
Jane Muller, Director of Marketing and Fund Development
Deborah Mensah-Awere, Interim Director of International Programs
Kenneth Wong, Senior Manager, Finance

Public Speaking Opportunities

Many effect:hope staff members have been in the field and have first-hand experience in working with those affected by leprosy. We would be pleased to come and speak to your group about leprosy and our programs. Please send your request for a speaking engagement by e-mail to